Chocolate Chip Cookies

26 Feb

Alex’s favorite food of all time is chocolate chip cookies.  He typically eats them on a daily basis with a tall glass of milk.  I can’t bake him fresh cookies daily but when I do have time, I like to make them special.  I like for them to stand out against his everyday cookies.

Needless to say, in the four years we’ve been together, I’ve baked countless cookies.  Followed countless recipes.  And had countless results.  Some good, some not so good, but only a few great.  So, I continue searching.  Each time I come across another chocolate chip recipe, I bookmark it; adding it to my on-going list of “things to bake.”

Today I finally had time to address my list and choose to make the Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies featured by the Brown Eyed Baker.  When I first found this recipe, I knew it had all the important aspects of a great chocolate chip cookie; a soft, chewy center, loads of chocolate, and they’re big enough to feed a small family.  I knew it would be love at first bite.

Let’s just say, the recipe did not disappoint.  The cookies turned out chewy, soft, and chock-full of chocolate.  Love.

The only thing I’ll change next time around (yes, I’ll definitely be using this recipe again) is the baking time.  The recipe calls for 15 to 18 minutes of baking.  I baked mine for 17 minutes but found that they were a little crispier than I’d hoped.  Next time I’ll bake them no longer than 15 so that they remain soft and chewy after they’ve cooled.

One last thing, before I share the recipe; please do read the original post by Michelle, the Brown Eyed Baker.  Michelle takes the time to emphasize the importance of measuring by weight, instead of by volume.  I couldn’t agree more.  In fact, I invested in a kitchen scale not too long ago and it’s been a life saver.  All my baked goods have been better as a result.

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
(from the Brown Eyed Baker)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups plus 2 Tbsp (10 5/8 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
  • 1 cup packed (7 ounces) light or dark brown sugar*
  • 1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 325 degrees. Line large baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.
  3. Either by hand or with an electric mixer, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed just until combined. Stir in the chips.
  4. Measure 1/4 cup of the dough and roll into a ball. Hold the dough ball with the fingertips of both hands and pull into 2 equal halves. Rotate the halves 90 degrees and, with jagged surfaces facing up, join the halves together at their base, again forming a single ball, being careful not to smooth the dough’s uneven surface. Place the formed dough balls on the prepared baking sheet, jagged surface up, spacing them 2 1/2 inches apart.
  5. Bake until the cookies are light golden grown and the outer edges start to harden yet the centers are still soft and puffy, 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Cool the cookies on the sheets. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets with a side metal spatula.

*When I was gathering my ingredients, I realized that I was out of brown sugar!  I had my heart set on making these cookies so I decided to forge ahead and make my own brown sugar.  I followed these directions set out by none other than Martha Stewart herself.  It worked very well however I’m interested to see if the cookies will turn out differently with regular brown sugar.  I guess I’ll just have to make them again.  Darn.

What’s next on your “things to bake” list?

5 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Crepes of Wrath February 28, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    These look like some serious cookies! I had a handful of chocolate chip Teddy Grahams for breakfast, but they pale in comparison to these babies! Maybe tomorrow I should get a proper chocolate chip cookie for my misguided breakfast choice. ;)

    • Michelle February 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      Oooo, chocolate chip cookies for breakfast?! I like the way you think :-)

  2. Christina February 28, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    How funny is it that I made these exact cookies on saturday afternoon?! Haha! They were my post yesterday! They are sooooo amazing! :)

    • Michelle March 1, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Agreed! Great minds think alike ;-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Meatballs & ABCs « A Voracious Appetite - March 28, 2011

    [...] – Yummy Food You Make: Chocolate Chip cookies (for sure) and a close second would have to be [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

