Archive | 11:57 am

High Protein & Fiber Coconut Pancakes

3 Apr

This morning I couldn’t decide what I wanted for breakfast.  I knew I wanted something more elaborate than my everyday breakfast but it was too warm for oats and I wasn’t in the mood for a smoothie.  Then it occurred to me, I haven’t had pancakes in ages and they sounded really good.

The only drawback to typical pancakes is that they never keep me full.  So, I decided to amp them up a little bit.  To increase the staying power, I incorporated protein and fiber into the pancakes and then topped them with a serving of heart healthy fat.

This recipe is a keeper.  The pancakes turned out incredibly fluffy and moist with a strong coconut flavor.  The coconut flour certainly takes precedence (which I love!).  And lucky for me, it left me with a couple days worth of leftovers!

Coconut Flour Pancakes
(yields about 7 pancakes)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 coconut flour
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used vanilla whey.)
  • 1 tsp physillium husk powder (optional; adds fiber)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg, separated
  • 2 Tbsp turbano sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp coconut oil

Directions:

  1. In a medium sized bowl, combine dry ingredients.
  2. In a separate, large bowl, combine all wet ingredients except milk and egg.
  3. Over a small bowl, crack the egg in half and separate the yolk from the white.  You’ll want the egg white to be in the small bowl.  Add your yolk to the wet ingredients.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet.  Slowly add milk one tablespoon at a time, until desired consistency is reached.  I used 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons but if you want a thinner batter, you can add up to 1/2 cup.
  5. Whisk the egg white until soft peaks form (about a minute or two).
  6. Using a spatula, fold egg whites into your pancake batter.
  7. In a lightly oiled skillet, over medium heat, cook pancakes two at a time for about two minutes per side.  Watch carefully to make sure they don’t burn.

To give you an idea of how much protein and fiber there is in the recipe, I’ve included the nutrition stats below.  I ate about two and a half pancakes topped with melted coconut butter and dried cranberries.  It kept me pleasantly full for about four hours 🙂

Do you take the time to prepare an elaborate breakfast on the weekends?