Chicken Enchiladas

28 Jan

I know I just started this whole blog thing but I feel I should warn you.  You will see a lot of chicken recipes on this blog.  As a former vegetarian, I find chicken to be a “safe” meat.  Meaning that it’s usually pretty easy to cook and it pleases almost everyone. 

Over the last year or so, I’ve slowly incorporated meat back into my diet.  The reason being, I felt like I wasn’t getting enough protein and I actually missed it.  I can’t say that is true for all meat, but it is when it comes to chicken. 

Since I cook with chicken so often, I’m always looking for new ways to make it appetizing as it can be so easy to get into a cooking rut.  And chicken dishes can be quite bland if they aren’t done right.

Chicken enchiladas is something I’ve wanted to make for a long while.  I actually made my first batch of enchiladas about a month ago.  And, although it tasted great, the tortillas did not stay rolled up.  It became more of an enchilada casserole, than classic enchiladas.  Or as my boyfriend affectionately called it, “an enchilada mess”.

But I’ve learned the secret.  And I’m happy to share it with you.  In order to prevent the tortillas from breaking, all you need to do is warm them in a lightly oiled skillet before filling them.  It’s as simple as that!

Chicken Enchiladas
(based on this recipe at allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2lb skinless, boneless chicken tenders
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 6oz container of greek yogurt (0% or 2%)
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped tomato
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 10 (6 inch) corn tortillas
  • 1/2 (12 ounce) jar green enchilada sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  •  

    Directions:

    1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
    2. Fill a medium saucepan until almost full and bring water to a boil.  Once water is boiling, place chicken in the water and reduce the heat to low.  Cover the saucepan and boil the chicken for 9-10 minutes.  Shred the boiled chicken once it’s done.
    3. In a medium, non-stick skillet over medium heat, add chicken, onion, yogurt, Cheddar cheese, parsley, oregano and ground black pepper. Heat until cheese melts. Stir in salt, tomato, water, chili powder, red pepper and garlic powder.
    4. Meanwhile, heat the tortillas individually in a lightly oiled skillet.
    5. Roll even amounts of the mixture in the tortillas. Coat the bottom on an 8×8 baking dish with 2-3 tablespoons of enchilada sauce.  Arrange the enchiladas in the dish. Cover with remaining enchilada sauce and 1/2 cup Cheddar cheese. Bake uncovered in the preheated oven 15-17 minutes. Cool 5-7 minutes before serving.

    I had some leftover filling so you could always use a bigger pan and fill more tortillas.  Or heat up the filling the next day and serve it over some greens.  Either way, enjoy!

    PS… I’m still new to blogging so taking a picture completely slipped my mind.  Next time I make this recipe, I’ll be sure to take some.

    3 Responses to “Chicken Enchiladas”

    1. melissa February 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      You know what? I was vegetarian for three years. And then I started incorporating meat back into my diet as well.

      We don’t do chicken though because my husband doesn’t like the smell of it – and because they use a lot of hormones in chicken, so unless you buy that biological stuff… chicken is not so safe for ya. Here’s why, those hormones – make it so that antibiotics don’t work for ya… and then when you get really sick and need to take some, doesn’t help. If you choose chicken – eat biological!

      I eat pork – and I know it’s really fattening and I feel sort of bad about eating “Babe” but it tastes so good and it cannot be duplicated… unlike chicken – i have found a good source of vegetarian “chicken” – which is actually soy based that I don’t need it.

      but anyway, it’s nice to stumble upon your blog.

      and i think you will really enjoy food blogging. it’s fun and you make lots of friends 🙂

      • Michelle February 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

        I agree with what you said about chicken. I always buy organic chicken that was raised without antibiotics. It may be more expensive but it’s worth it overall. And I have to agree that there just isn’t anything else out there that can compare to bacon!

        Thanks for stopping by!

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. Chicken Parmesan « A Voracious Appetite - March 10, 2011

      […] Mar I did mention we eat a lot of chicken, didn’t I?  Well even if you missed it before, it’s hard to miss now.  I’ve […]

    Leave a Reply

