Healthy Banana Bread

5 Feb

Over the past two months, I’ve developed a new habit.  I bake banana bread nearly every weekend.

I can’t say I remember what originally inspired to bake my first loaf.  Probably an onslaught of fruit flies in my kitchen.  Scary stuff.

In the end, I have those flies to thank because this banana bread is so good.  I tend eat a slice or two a day, whenever I have a fresh loaf on hand.  Preferably paired with peanut butter.  Yum.

Healthy Banana Bread
(recipe from meals and moves who was inspired by hungry, hungry hippie)

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 overly ripe bananas
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • flax seed “egg” (1 TBSP flax meal + 2.5 TBSP warm water)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder (Janetha’s idea)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

1.  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2.  Mash bananas until they are wet

3.  Mix in remaining wet ingredients; pumpkin, vanilla, “flax egg”, and brown sugar.  Mix well.

4.  Add whole wheat flour, protein powder, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.  Mix well.

5.  Line a 9×5 loaf pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.  Pour the batter into the pan.

6.  Optional step:  To use up an extra banana (and to make the bread look pretty), I sliced a banana and placed the slices on top of the bread before it baked.  You can easily skip this step.

7.  Bake the bread for about 45-55 minutes.  To check that it’s done, insert a knife in the middle of the loaf.  The knife should be clean when removed.  If it isn’t, bake the bread on five minute intervals, until it’s done.

8.  Let it cool and enjoy!

Important note:  Your entire kitchen (and apartment, in my case) will smell like warm banana bread while it’s baking.  And you’ll probably want to eat the entire loaf upon it’s removal from the oven.  Consider yourself warned.

8 Responses to “Healthy Banana Bread”

  1. janetha @ meals and moves February 5, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    it is impossible for me to NOT eat the whole loaf in a matter of days.

    • Michelle February 6, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      Glad I’m not the only one. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. cookingwithcoupons February 6, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    You have inspired me to make some banana bread! Now if I just had some over ripe bananas.
    I can smell and taste the bread now!

  3. Caitlin February 9, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Holy yum! This sounds so good right now, I think I just might need to make some banana bread! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    • Michelle February 9, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      It’s seriously so good. Let me know if you make some!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banana Bread Remix! « A Voracious Appetite - March 27, 2011

    […] Coconut Banana Bread (adapted  from this recipe) […]

  2. How to make Homemade Peanut Butter « A Voracious Appetite - May 2, 2011

    […] slathered on some healthy banana bread […]

  3. Health(ier) Zucchini Bread « A Voracious Appetite - May 18, 2011

    […] have to be banana bread.  It’s a sweet treat that if prepared properly can also be quite healthy.  Banana bread is a great addition to the breakfast table but can also be enjoyed as a snack or […]

Leave a Reply

