Savory Bread Pudding

9 Feb

A couple weeks ago, Alex and I hosted a housewarming party at our new apartment.  It was our first chance to host a gathering together and I think it went off without a hitch.  We both had a really good time and our guests seemed to also.

Of course, I was on food duty.  I wish I could say this post is about the party but sadly I forgot to take pictures.  I can, however, give you a quick list of what I served:

Hummus with veggies (carrots, peppers, and broccoli)
Homemade guacamole and chips
Pizza bites (<– these were awesome.  I’m going to post the recipe soon!)
Beef sliders on mini brioche buns

So what’s the point of telling you what we ate without sharing the goods (photos, recipes, samples)?  Well, the leftovers inspired this post!  I ended up using only half of the mini brioche buns that I bought, so I needed to do something with them.  Insert bread pudding here.

I’d never made a bread pudding before but I didn’t think Alex and I could plow through another 20 sliders.  Okay, maybe he could, but I like variety.  And in the end he was happy.  We both were.  This recipe is great!

Savory Bread Pudding
(based on this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 4oz organic turkey bacon
  • 5oz frozen spinach
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 1 garlic glove, minced
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 2 TBSP nutritional yeast
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 5 large eggs
  • 8-10 mini brioche buns cubed

Directions:

  1. 12-24 hours before you plan to make the pudding, cube the bread and leave it on the counter.  It’ll cause the bread to dry out which will help it absorb more liquid later on.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Cook bacon on a skillet over medium heat.  Remove cooked bacon onto a paper towel.  Leave bacon grease on the skillet.
  4. Cook onion in bacon grease for about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and spinach.  Saute for another 5 minutes.  Remove from the heat.
  5. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk milk, cheese, nutritional yeast, eggs, and spices.  Whisk in the spinach and bacon.  Slowly fold in cubed bread until all pieces are lightly coated.
  6. Let the bread mixture soak for 10 minutes.
  7. In a lightly oiled 8×8 pan, spread bread mixture evenly.  Sprinkle about 2 tablespoons of parmesan cheese on top.
  8. Bake for 30 – 35 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let it sit for about 10 minutes.
  9. Serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

