Jillian vs. The Sun

10 Feb

I’ve never been a morning person.  I will probably never be a morning person.  But sometimes, I find the motivation and energy to workout in the mornings.  And I’m always glad I did.  Today was no exception.

In order to help me actually get out of bed, I did the following last night:

  • Put out my workout clothes, including sneakers
  • Decided on a workout DVD  (Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, Level 3)
  • Set my alarm with just enough time to get up and do it.  I knew that if I had buffer time, I would not get up.

I have to say that even though it was tough, waking up to Jillian Michaels was better than waking up to the sun.

source

I’m a big fan of Jillian’s.  (Yes, we’re on a first name basis.)  I have most of her DVDs and each one is a great, complete workout.  My favorites are the 30 Day Shred and No More Trouble Zones.  I plan to talk about all of her DVDs at some point but let’s focus on the 30 Day Shred for today, shall we?

The 30 Day Shred consists of three levels.  The DVD recommends that beginners start at level one and gradually work up to level three, as they feel ready.  The idea is that over the course of 30 days, you should be able to progress through each level, ultimately ending at level 3. 

Each level is a quick, but extremely effective, 25 minutes.  In that time, Jillian provides moves that hit almost every muscle in the body and keep the heart rate elevated.  It’s cardio and toning combined.  Instruction and variations are provided for each move. 

Aside from the physical benefits, Jillian works hard to motivate you throughout the video.  She knows that working out can be tough and she reminds you of the reasons you starting doing it in the first place.  She countdowns toward the end of each move.  That way you’re not doing what feels like a million sit-ups with no end in sight!

In light of today’s successful morning workout, I’ve decided to challenge myself to work out at least one morning a week.  I always feel better knowing I started the day by doing something good for me, so why not do it more often?

Anyone interested in joining me?  What sort of workout would you do?

3 Responses to “Jillian vs. The Sun”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Core Fusion: Thighs & Glutes « A Voracious Appetite - February 17, 2011

    […] Feb This morning, to keep up with my morning workout challenge, I decided to do 30 minutes of Core Fusion Thighs & […]

  2. Barbeque Chicken & Bean Burritos « A Voracious Appetite - March 28, 2011

    […] know I’ve said this before, and I’m sure I’ll say it again; I’m a big fan of Jillian […]

  3. Epic. « A Voracious Appetite - April 6, 2011

    […] out my other posts about Jillian Michaels here and […]

Leave a Reply

