I Love You, Pizza

15 Feb

I hope everyone had a happy Valentine’s Day!  It was a gorgeous day in NYC.  It reached almost 50 degrees, which was pretty fantastic considering the winter we’ve had.  Too bad I had to spend the day in the office but at least I got to spend the evening with my sweetie 🙂

In honor of the holiday, I decided to make a dinner I knew we’d both love.  I also wanted it to be relatively quick and easy so I wasn’t in the kitchen the whole evening, allowing me to spend more time with Alex.

Pizza seemed like the best choice.  I made a double batch of pizza dough yesterday, while we were basking in the engagement glow.  Some people drink cocktails or eat chocolates to celebrate; I make pizza dough.

I followed this recipe from Annie’s Eats.  The first time I tried this pizza dough was when I made Pizza Bites a few weeks ago.  I was very impressed.  The dough turned out so soft and chewy with great flavor.  And it was so easy to make!  This is now my go-to pizza dough recipe.

Since I was in the Valentine’s spirit, I had a little fun with the toppings.  Last week, I came across a blog post that featured pizza with heart shaped pepperoni.  So that is what I set out to recreate.  Unfortunately I don’t remember where I saw that, otherwise I’d be happy to give the blogger credit.  It’s a great idea!

I Love You, Pizza

Ingredients:

  • Pizza dough
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 5-7 large pepperoni slices
  • 1/2 of a large red bell pepper

Directions:

  1. Prepare pizza dough.  Since the dough recipe makes enough for two pizzas, I stored half in the refrigerator and the other half in the freezer.
  2. Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
  3. Lightly spray a pizza pan with cooking spray and shape your dough to fit the pan.
  4. Cut pepperoni into heart shapes (Awww) and chop red bell to be shaped into hearts, as well.
  5. Spread tomato sauce over dough.  Sprinkle cheese over the tomato sauce.  Next layer your pepperoni and peppers so that you have a love-ly pizza.
  6. Place prepared pizza into the oven and cook for 8-12 minutes, or until cheese just begins to brown.

How did you celebrate Valentine’s Day?

8 Responses to “I Love You, Pizza”

  1. Crepes of Wrath February 15, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    What a cute idea!

    I came home from work a bit early and made orange chicken for my husband – he was quite surprised when he got home!

  2. Stephanie @cookinfanatic February 15, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Thanks so much for reaching out on my blog – it is definitely always fun to meet another CPA that enjoys food as much as I do!!! 🙂

  3. Alan Silverstein February 16, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    What do you mean too bad you had to spend the day in the office?! What’s the problem I don’t get it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Meatballs & ABCs « A Voracious Appetite - February 28, 2011

    […] Y – Yummy Food You Make: Chocolate Chip cookies (for sure) and a close second would have to be pizza. […]

  2. Veggie Calzones « A Voracious Appetite - April 4, 2011

    […] Pizza dough (I used 1/4 of the recipe for one calzone.) […]

  3. Stuffed Crust Pizza « A Voracious Appetite - April 11, 2011

    […] Pizza dough […]

Leave a Reply

