Five Favorites Friday – 2/25/11

25 Feb

Hello Friday!  I’m so happy you’re here.  This week was a short one but I’m still battling last weeks illness so it wasn’t the best week.  But that’s alright because the weekend is here.  I’m looking forward to some relaxation and good food.  Maybe some homemade breadsticks, Olive Garden style?  You’ll have to keep reading for the recipe!

My five favorites for Friday, February 25th:

  1. Rustic Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Bread (from Garlic and Sea Salt)
    Not too long ago, Allie featured this bread recipe and I knew I had to make it mine.  I love the idea of incorporating sweet potatoes into a yeast bread.  And it’ll give me even more experience with yeast breads!
  2. Olive Garden Breadsticks
    In my opinion, there is one reason to go to Olive Garden; their garlic, buttery breadsticks.  However, since moving to the city, I hardly ever go.  In fact, I think I’ve only been once in the past five or six years!  But now, I don’t have to worry about never making it there.  I can bring the best part of the restaurant to my own kitchen.
  3. Doughnuts take NYC by storm
    Doughnuts are the next cupcakes.  At least according to the NYTimes.  The slideshow included with the article says it all.  It’s inspired me for my next foodie adventure.
  4. McDonald’s does oatmeal
    This article is an opinion piece by Mark Bittman.  His message is that McDonald’s has found a way to make even the most basic of breakfasts into a sugar-laden health disaster.  It highlights somethings that the food industry does wrong, such as adding unnecessary ingredients and chemicals and it emphasizes that the best “diet” for anyone is real, whole foods.  It is a well written piece on an important message that everyone should read.
  5. Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (from Lovin’ From the Oven)
    Lately I’ve seen several recipes for stuffed chocolate chip cookies.  I love the idea of a cookie within a cookie.  Next chance I get, I’m going to attempt making these cookies with Thin Mints in place of Oreos.  Think it’ll work?  Even if it doesn’t, it could be a tasty kitchen fail.  I’m willing to risk it.

Have a good weekend!  Any plans for your kitchen this weekend?

3 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday – 2/25/11”

  1. melissa February 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Hello, thanks for visiting my blog. My plans for the weekend, though, the weekend is almost over for me :(
    sigh.

    made white chicken chili and corn bread – went to a wii boxing tournament at my church – so much fun.

  2. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) March 29, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    I need to make this bread again! Totally forgot about it.

    • Michelle March 30, 2011 at 8:23 am #

      If you do, can you send me some? I never got a chance to make it, haha.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

