Photography Fun

6 Mar

I must admit, I don’t know much about photography.  I’ve never been the type to carry a camera with me nor would I use one on the rare occasion I’d remembered it.  So when I started this blog, I knew one of the many challenges I’d face was photography.

Pictures are an important component of any blog that is worthwhile.  Sure, a good blog includes much more, such as, creative writing and a plethora of ideas, but it must also have appealing pictures.  Pictures that complement the recipes.  Pictures that make the food seem mouth watering.  Pictures that keep the readers coming back for more.

So in an effort to learn more and get comfortable with my relatively new camera, I decided to have a little photography fun.  I was inspired by Ashley’s homework assignment, as well as, Amanda’s post on lighting.  I choose to photograph an apple over the course of one day.  I took pictures at 9:30am, 11:15am, 2:00pm, and 4:30pm.

Each time I took pictures, I took four shots.

  1. Light source coming from the right
  2. Light source directly behind the apple
  3. Light source coming from the left
  4. Light source directly behind the camera (camera was between the sun and the apple)

As a side note, it has been a very overcast day so the light wasn’t ideal.  But I was determined to finish my homework :-), so I went with it.

9:30 am

11:15 am

2:00 pm

4:30 pm

My favorite photo of the day was the picture taken at 11:15am with the light source coming from the right.

The sun highlighted the bright spots of the apple best at this time of day.  The angle of the sun created a dark shadow which is a great contrast to the bright red of the apple.

Overall I had a lot of fun with this project.  If I learned one thing, it’s that natural light is key when it comes to photographing food.  (Yet another reason to look forward to the summer!)  Perhaps I’ll be able to get some shots of my dinner before the sun goes down 🙂

Which photo did you like the best?  Any photography tips you can share?  All comments and advice are welcomed!

One Response to “Photography Fun”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. edible homework – shadows « the edible perspective - March 10, 2011

    […] Mmmm, apples.  I definitely eat one almost every day!  Thanks to Michelle from A Voracious Appetite, for submitting these next two photos.  You can check out her post about it here! […]

Leave a Reply

