Chicken Parmesan

10 Mar

I did mention we eat a lot of chicken, didn’t I?  Well even if you missed it before, it’s hard to miss now.  I’ve posted three recipes this week, each involving chicken.  What can I say?  We like our chicken.

source

One of Alex’s favorite meals (as in, it’s the only thing he orders when we go to an Italian restaurant) is Chicken Parmesan.  I can understand where he’s coming from.  I mean, what’s not to like about juicy, breaded chicken cooked with hearty tomato sauce and melty cheese?  Mmmmm.

Lucky for him, I found a recipe that couldn’t be easier.  And it’s healthy to boot.  I served the chicken with whole grain pasta and roasted brussels sprouts for a balanced, vitamin rich meal.  So it’s healthy and it tastes good?  Sign me up!

Chicken Parmesan
(recipe adapted from allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb chicken breast or tenders
  • 2 Tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzerella cheese
  • 2 Tbsp parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Pat chicken tenders dry and dredge them through the flour, egg, then bread crumbs.
  3. Place chicken on a lightly greased baking sheet and cook for 15 to 20 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink in the center.
  4. In an 8×8 baking dish, spread 1/2 cup of tomato sauce on the bottom of the dish.
  5. Lay chicken on top of the sauce and cover the chicken with the remaining sauce and cover with cheese.
  6. Cover the baking dish with foil and cook for another 20 minutes.
  7. Serve with pasta and veggies for a balanced meal 🙂

What’s your favorite Italian dish?
I love anything with pesto and warm, soft bread with olive oil!

4 Responses to “Chicken Parmesan”

  1. Christina March 10, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    We eat a lot of chicken too! Chicken Parmesan is one of my favorites to order when we dine at an Italian restaurant. Love it! 🙂

    • Michelle March 11, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      I’m glad to hear we’re not alone, haha!

  2. Alan Silverstein March 11, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    This looks amazing for real. Please invite me next time…

    • Michelle March 11, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Thanks! Next time I make it, you and Amanda are welcome to come over 🙂

Leave a Reply

