Toasted Coconut Peanut Butter Cups

14 Mar

Over the past year or two, I’ve become a much more adventurous eater.  I spent about 13 years of my life as a vegetarian so that usually meant my options were limited (especially as a poor college student).  However, when I slowly started incorporating meat back into my diet, I also broadened my horizons to several new foods.  I’ve developed a liking for sushi, I gladly eat chia seeds in my oatmeal, and I even have taken a liking to quinoa.

One food that I’d always avoided was coconut.  I never had much exposure to it beyond the sickly sweet filling in Almond Joys (yuck).  But then I started cooking and baking with several coconut based items; coconut oil, coconut flour, coconut butter.

I like all things coconut so much that I tend to daydream about how I can incorporate it into some of my favorite foods.  That’s where these come in.

For the longest time, I’ve wanted to make my own peanut butter cups because while I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, I don’t love the artificial ingredients in most commercial brands.  So, I got creative and added one of my new favorite foods to an all-time classic.

Toasted Coconut Peanut Butter Cups
(makes 16 cups)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips (preferably organic or all-natural)
  • 1/4 cup coconut butter (I used Artisana)
  • 10 drops of stevia, optional
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened, organic coconut flakes

Directions:

  1. Prepare a mini-muffin pan with cupcake liners.
  2. Place chocolate and coconut butter in a microwave safe bowl.  Microwave on 30 second intervals, until the chocolate and coconut butter come together smoothly.  Stir in stevia, if using.
  3. Pour 1 to 1 1/2 tsp of melted chocolate into each cupcake liner.
  4. Place muffin pan into the fridge for 10 minutes, to let the chocolate set.
  5. Meanwhile, toast your unsweetened coconut on the stove top over medium heat.  Watch the coconut carefully as it will burn easily!
  6. Mix the peanut butter and toasted coconut.
  7. Once the first round of chocolate is set, measure 1/2 Tbsp of peanut butter mixture and place it in each cupcake liner.
  8. Pour another tsp of chocolate on top of cup.
  9. Place the muffin pan back in the refrigerator and let the chocolate set for about 15 to 20 minutes.

To be honest, even though these were great, I could not taste the coconut at all.  I think the next time I make these I’ll use coconut oil in place of coconut butter.  Or I could mix coconut butter with the peanut butter and the toasted coconut.  Mmmm… let the coconut daydreaming continue 🙂

How do you feel about coconut?  Any suggestions on how I can increase the coconut flavor?

4 Responses to “Toasted Coconut Peanut Butter Cups”

  1. Christina March 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Oh man…chocolate, peanut butter and coconut!? You made these for me didn’t you? 😉 They look incredible! I have never tried using stevia, I have seen so many recipes that use it lately, I really need to give it a go! 🙂

    • Michelle March 15, 2011 at 8:57 am #

      Hahaha, I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one in love with this combo! I definitely recommend trying stevia. I haven’t used it much in baking but the few times I have, I’ve really liked it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday – 4/1/11 « A Voracious Appetite - April 1, 2011

    […] Cinnamon Granola (from Naturally Ella) I think I’ve made it clear that I love coconut.  But one thing that I haven’t featured on the blog yet is homemade granola.  […]

  2. Five Favorites Friday – 5/6/11 « A Voracious Appetite - May 6, 2011

    […] Chocolate Cinnamon PB Cups (from Nutrition Nut on the Run) I’ve made my own peanut butter cups and I have to say that they don’t even compare to store-bought.  They are just so much […]

Leave a Reply

