Creamy Chicken & Broccoli Pasta

15 Mar

Typically, when our schedules coincide, Alex and I walk to and from work together.  It’s a nice chance for us to talk and we get some exercise in!  Last night was the first time in a loooooong time that we were able to walk home while it was still light out.  I’m very happy with this day lights saving business 🙂

Last night’s dinner was an impromptu recipe because I really had no idea what to make.  I knew I had some chicken in the fridge and I always keep pasta on hand, so after some thought, I came up with this dish.  The flavors of this dish really worked!  I keep surprising myself with my cooking abilities, haha.  But honestly, this is such a simple quick meal, even the most novice of cooks could make it.

Creamy Chicken & Broccoli Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 1lb chicken tenders, seasoned with salt and pepper
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 gloves garlic, minced
  • 4oz pasta, uncooked (I used Barilla Plus Elbows.)
  • 2 heads of broccoli
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 6oz container of greek yogurt (I used Fage.)
  • 1/4 cup spinach and artichoke hummus (I used Sabra –> just bought this over the weekend and it’s halfway gone; love it!)
  • 1/4 cup Italian blend shredded cheese (The blend I used had mozzarella, provolone, asiago, parmesan, and romano)
  • 2 tsp Oregano
  • 1 tsp Basil
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Chop onions, mince garlic, and cut chicken into bite sized pieces.
  2. Heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onions and garlic to the skillet.  Cook for about five minutes before adding the chicken.  Season the chicken with salt and pepper.  Cook for about 10 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, heat water to boiling and throw your pasta in.  After the pasta has cooked for 6 minutes, throw in two cups of broccoli.  Cook for another four minutes.
  4. While both the pasta and chicken are cooking, prepare your sauce.  In a small bowl, combine greek yogurt, hummus, cheese, and spices.  (PS… using hummus as pasta sauce is not my original idea!  I’ve seen it various places over the blogosphere.  It’s such a genius idea because it makes the sauce extra creamy!)
  5. Once the chicken is cooked, add the sauce to your skillet and heat over low until the pasta is done.
  6. Once the pasta and broccoli have cooked for 10 minutes, in total, drain both.  Add sauce to the pasta and you’re ready to serve!

What have you done to “celebrate” day lights saving time?  Have you ever used hummus as pasta sauce?

12 Responses to “Creamy Chicken & Broccoli Pasta”

  1. janetha @ meals and moves March 15, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Oh my gosh! Haha.. I am eating casserole leftovers right now as I read blogs during lunch, and your meal from last night looks SO much like mine from last night! Just swap the pasta for quinoa. So random. I love it. Your pasta looks good and I love using hummus in pasta dishes!

    • Michelle March 15, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      Haha, what are the odds of that?! Come to think of it, your blog is probably one of the places I saw hummus used as pasta sauce. When I was typing the post, I couldn’t remember for the life of me. Old age is catching up with me 🙂

  2. Stephanie @cookinfanatic March 15, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    I’ve never used hummus w/ pasta (although must say I’m intrigued) but I was planning on a recipe using Greek yogurt to make a pasta sauce this week – looks like yours turned out delicious!

    • Michelle March 15, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      Thanks! I’ll keep a look out for your recipe 🙂

  3. Alan March 16, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    I have already celebrated daylight savings in a big way. The other day I wore sunglasses!

    • Michelle March 16, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      Congratulations, that’s very exciting 🙂

  4. Mary @ Bites and Bliss March 16, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    We had a very similar dish the other nigth but made with tofu and it was fantastic!! I don’t doubt this one may be even better though with the use of the yogurt.

    • Michelle March 16, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Oh, I bet this dish would be good with tofu since it absorbs the flavor of whatever it’s cooked it. However, the tough part would be getting my fiance to eat tofu, haha 🙂

  5. holly April 4, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    stumbled upon your blog. this sounds so good. plan on having it for dinner tonight! can you tell me approx. how many this recipe might serve?

    • Michelle April 4, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      Sure thing. I’d say it makes around 4 decent sized portions. My fiance managed to eat two portions, I had one, and then we had about one left over. I hope you enjoy the recipe!

  6. Tara August 27, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    this is fabulous!! just what i was looking for…THANK YOU

    • Michelle August 27, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

