Lettuce Talk About Lunch

24 Mar

More often than not I eat salad for lunch.  It’s convenient, nutritious, and delicious!  More importantly, by making salad my go-to lunch option I know I’m doing something good for myself by eating a variety of vitamins and minerals.

With all that said, I want to make it clear that I’m not eating some wimpy salad with only lettuce, carrots and a couple tomatoes.  Oh no.  That certainly isn’t going to last me as I number crunch the afternoon away.  (Note the calculator in the picture above <– nerd alert!)

Here are the basics to building a salad that has staying power:

  • Protein – this is a must!  It doesn’t have to be meat, you can easily add grilled tofu or beans for vegetarian or vegan options.
  • Healthy fats – I usually go with avocado because it adds creaminess which means you can use less dressing and it tastes amazing, so why not?  Other good options are nuts.  They add great crunch!
  • Fiber – without getting into too much detail, I think it’s common knowledge as to what fiber does.  But aside from that, fiber helps you feel full longer.  Most vegetables are a great source of fiber but some of the best are avocado, beans, broccoli, and brussels sprouts.

Aside from the above, I love to incorporate lots of color.  By including a variety of colors, I know I’m getting a variety of nutrients, flavors, and textures.

One of my favorite places is Chop’t, the Creative Salad Company.  The selection at Chop’t can’t be beat.  In addition to their classic salads that are always on the menu, they rotate three seasonal salads that incorporate ingredients that are currently in season.  You can also create your own salad if none of their pre-designed salads float your boat.

The Chop’t founders have a great vision for their restaurant.

“We’ve always been focused on it’s freshness and quality and made it our mission that only premium, ultra-fresh ingredients would be served at Chop’t.  Nothing processed.  No trans-fat.  No pre-cut or pre-shredded anything.  Just wholesome, delicious, farm-fresh food that would delight, inspire, and nourish.”

I definitely recommend checking out Chop’t if your ever in midtown and looking for a fresh, quick lunch option!  And, no, I wasn’t paid for my review, I just think it’s a great company that I’m happy to support 🙂

What do you usually eat for lunch?  Do you like salads?

3 Responses to “Lettuce Talk About Lunch”

  1. Alan Silverstein March 24, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Great job avoiding any pictures of stray workpapers

  2. simplynutritiouskate March 24, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Love salads thanks for the advice I am always looking for ways to bulk them up!

Leave a Reply

