Banana Bread Remix!

27 Mar

Hi there!  How’s your weekend been?  Mine has been so nice.  Yesterday I got to try on some beautiful wedding dresses for the first time!  I left the salon with two very good options.  I don’t know if either is “the one” but it’s great to have two very promising options and both are so reasonably priced.  All in all, it was a successful shopping trip.

After shopping I met up with Alex at… as a semi-New Yorker, I’m ashamed to admit this… the Olive Garden.  Their breadsticks just can’t be beat!  But while we were there I remembered why we don’t go very often.  It gets so crowded!!!  Ah well, it was a nice meal regardless, I just doubt we’ll be heading back any time soon.

Moving onto a different type of bread entirely.  Banana Bread.  I love banana bread and as soon as I have overly ripe bananas I know exactly what I’m going to do with them.  With that being said, I have a hard time making the same type of banana bread each time.  It’s just so much fun to experiment with new recipes!

Lately I’ve been enjoying coconut a lot so it only seemed natural that I’d incorporate it into this recipe.  And it turned out great.  Even if you’re not a fan of coconut, you’ll enjoy this recipe.  The coconut flavor is not overwhelming but I’d suggest leaving out the coconut flakes.

Coconut Banana Bread
(adapted  from this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 overly ripe bananas
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • flax seed “egg” (1 TBSP flax meal + 2.5 TBSP warm water)
  • 1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp pure cane sugar
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 to 3 Tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mash bananas until they are wet.
  3. Mix in remaining wet ingredients; pumpkin, applesauce, coconut oil, vanilla, “flax egg”, and sugar.
  4. Add whole wheat flour, coconut flour, protein powder, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder and salt to the wet ingredients.  Mix well.  Once mixed, add in unsweetened coconut flakes.
  5. Line a 9×5 loaf pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.  Pour the batter into the pan.
  6. Sprinkle the top of the loaf with 1 Tbsp of sugar.
  7. Bake the bread for about 45 minutes.  To check that it’s done, insert a knife in the middle of the loaf.  The knife should be clean when removed.  If it isn’t, bake the bread on five minute intervals, until it’s done.

Do you have a go-to banana bread recipe or do you like to improvise?

6 Responses to “Banana Bread Remix!”

  1. Crepes of Wrath March 28, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    This looks like it is just jam packed with flavor. I could go for a piece of this smothered in peanut butter just about now!

    • Michelle March 28, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Yay, that’s my favorite way to eat it!

  2. Christina March 30, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    It is wild how the Olive Garden is always packed no matter what time of day. But you are right, the breadsticks can’t be beat! I am loving this banana bread and the addition of coconut sounds incredible! I LOVE coconut…it makes everything 10 times better! 🙂

    • Michelle March 30, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      I feel the exact same way about coconut (well, obviously, haha). I can’t seem to get enough lately! Maybe because it reminds me so much of the warm weather?!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorites Friday – 4/1/11 « A Voracious Appetite - April 1, 2011

    […] Cinnamon Granola (from Naturally Ella) I think I’ve made it clear that I love coconut.  But one thing that I haven’t featured on the blog yet is homemade granola.  Making […]

  2. Five Favorites Friday – 4/8/11 « A Voracious Appetite - April 8, 2011

    […] Pesto Breadsticks (from Heat Oven to 350) I love the idea of pesto in a breadstick.  Pesto is a simple food in that it only requires a handful of ingredients but, these basic ingredients create such complex, rich flavors.  And breadsticks, well, I think we all know how I feel about breadsticks!  […]

Leave a Reply

