Five Favorites Friday – 4/1/11

1 Apr

Between the promise of warm weather and the fact that I have to fit into a wedding dress in less than seven months, I’ve been favoring light, healthy foods lately.  I’ve been focusing on increasing the amount of fruits and veggies I eat, while decreasing the amount of processed foods and sugar. 

I kept this all in mind while compiling my list of favorites this week.  You’ll find that all these recipes use real, whole foods and incorporate a variety of flavors.  Who says healthy has to be boring?

My favorites for Friday, April 1st:

  1. Coconut Cinnamon Granola (from Naturally Ella)
    I think I’ve made it clear that I love coconut.  But one thing that I haven’t featured on the blog yet is homemade granola.  Making granola from scratch is one of the most simple things you can do in the kitchen.  You don’t even need to follow an exact recipe.  So long as you have the basic components, granola can easily be tailored to your taste.  This recipe combines some of my favorite flavors with one of my favorite foods. 
  2. Irish oatmeal bread with cheddar and pumpkin seeds (from Cooking Lessons)
    Although it is very intriging, I’ve never had the chance to make soda bread.  I can appreciate that it doesn’t involve yeast and therefore doesn’t involve lengthly rising times.  What I like about this particular soda bread is the incorporation of whole wheat flour, steel cut oats, and pumpkin seeds.  If the pictures aren’t telling enough, I’m sure these components lend themselves to wonderful texture and flavor.
  3. 5 Ingredient No Bake Vegan Date Squares (from Oh She Glows)
    These vegan date squares look so tempting!  I love that the ingredient list is so short, the directions very straight forward and they are no bake.  What’s not to like? 
  4. Black Rice and Soy Salad with Asian Dressing (from NYTimes.com)
    I’ve only had black rice once but from what I can remember, it has a nutty taste and a chewy texture.  It’s certainly thicker than brown rice and it’s high in antioxidants.  The incorporation of soy beans and tofu make this a great high protein option for those on a plant based diet.
  5. Banana Chips (from A Sweet Road)
    I can completely identify with Jaime’s over abundence of brown bananas.  Since I love banana bread so much, I tend to hoard bananas like they’re going out of style.  But the problem is, my banana stockpile tends to grow at a faster rate than my banana bread baking.  This recipe looks like a great way to use up the bananas before the fruit flies attack.

What are some of your favorite healthy foods?

Leave a Reply

