Veggie Calzones

4 Apr

As a kid, I loved calzones.  Whenever my family went to a pizza place, I’d favor calzones over regular pizza.  Preferrably the type filled with more cheese than anything else.  And always, with the sauce on the side.  I’ve never been a big fan of tomato sauce in calzones or on pizza.  I know, call me crazy, but there is just something about simplicity of melted cheese on soft chewy dough.  I don’t want tomato sauce to come in and crash the party in my mouth 🙂

Now that I’m a grown-up older and I have more knowledge about proper nutrition, I’ve come to appreciate calzones with a better balance between cheese and vegetables.  But don’t even think about putting tomato sauce in there.  I’ll spit it out and go to my room without dinner.

Looks like somethings never change.

Veggie Calzone
(recipe serves one)

Ingredients:

  • Pizza dough (I used 1/4 of the recipe for one calzone.)
  • 1 Tbsp basil pesto
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 head broccoli, chopped
  • 1/4 cup mozzerella cheese
  • 2 Tbsp parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • dash of garlic powder and Italian seasonings

Directions:

  1. Prepare pizza dough (allow up to two hours for rising time) or use previously prepared dough.  You’ll only need 1/4 of the dough for one calzone.
  2. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  3. Spray a skillet with nonstick cooking spray and heat over medium heat.  Add onions and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add spinach and cook until wilted.  Finally add broccoli for an extra minute or two.
  4. Roll your dough into a large circle.
  5. On half of the dough, spread 1 tablespoon of pesto.  Be sure to leave at least one inch of dough around the edge so that you can fold your calzone.
  6. On top of basil pesto, place your cooked veggies.  Top veggies with cheeses and salt and pepper, if using.
  7. Fold dough over veggies and pinch the edges closed.
  8. Make a couple small slits in the top of the dough.  Brush with olive oil and dust with garlic powder and Italian seasonings.
  9. Bake on a lightly oiled baking sheet for 8 to 10 minutes.

Do you prefer pizza or calzones?  With tomato sauce or without?

Leave a Reply

