Five Favorites Friday – 4/8/11

8 Apr

I’m not quite sure what it is but this week I’ve clearly been craving comfort foods.  Perhaps it’s the gloomy NYC spring weather we’ve been having?  Or the fact that I’ve been working extra hours and really just want to come home to a warm meal that’ll remind me of simpler times?  Whatever the case may be, this week’s line-up is sure to satisfy those comfort food cravings in a heartbeat!

My five favorites for Friday, April 8th:

  1. Pesto Breadsticks (from Heat Oven to 350)
    I love the idea of pesto in a breadstick.  Pesto is a simple food in that it only requires a handful of ingredients but, these basic ingredients create such complex, rich flavors.  And breadsticks, well, I think we all know how I feel about breadsticks
  2. Sausage Spinach Stuffed Shells (from Cooking on the Side)
    These remind me of one of my favorite dishes that my mom used to make, only amped up a bit.  The addition of sweet, Italian sausage makes for a hearty meals that any meatlover is sure to enjoy. 
  3. Browned Butter Brownies (from The Family Kitchen)
    Wow, these brownies look so rich that they could be mistaken for fudge.  I’ve read numerous recipes that call for browned butter but I’ve never used it myself.  Perhaps this recipe will finally be my chance.
  4. Baked Falafel with Lemon Tahini Sauce (from Can You Stay For Dinner?)
    Who says that comfort food has to be heavy?  This healthy, baked falafel looks like it could easily satisfy my comfort food cravings as well as my recent garbanzo bean infatuation.  (<– This is a little forewarning that you might see several hummus recipes in the near future.  Just sayin’.)
  5. How to make scratch off lottery tickets (from Artmind)
    Okay, so this isn’t a comfort food recipe but tell me, what’s more satisfying than scratch-off lotto tickets?  And with this tutorial, you can make your own.  How cool is that? 

Well that’s everything for this edition of Five Favorites Friday.  Tonight Alex and I are heading to a bridal expo.  I’m so excited!  We’ll be immersed in all things wedding for a good hour or two.  Please wish Alex the best of luck.

I may have asked this before, but please tell me again, what is your favorite comfort food?

4 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday – 4/8/11”

  1. Kathy - Cooking On the Side April 8, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    What a great list. Thanks so much for including my stuffed shells! My all-time favorite comfort food: fries. 🙂

    • Michelle April 8, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      You’re welcome. I’m having fun looking through all your recipes. And I agree with you, fries are great!

  2. Christina April 8, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Have fun at the bridal expo tonight…those are always super fun! Loving your favorites list..I have had my eye on those pesto breadsticks! 🙂

    • Michelle April 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      The bridal expo was fun but so crowded! At least I walked away with a lot of fun pamphlets to look through. Let me know if you make the pesto breadsticks. They look divine!

Leave a Reply

