Stuffed Crust Pizza

11 Apr

Stuffed crust pizza always makes me feel like a kid again.  When I was growing up, my family would occassionally go to Pizza Hut for dinner.  I have distinct memories of going to the all-you-can-eat salad bar and feeling very adult.  I’d usually go with a salad of iceberg lettuce, green peas, chinese noodles, and ample amounts of ranch dressing.  Mmmm, ranch dressing.  Now that’s another comfort food.  But I digress.

Once I had matured past the kiddie personal pan pizza, I could partake in the grown-up pizza.  And when I got lucky, my parents would agree to a stuffed crust pie.  Stuffed crust pizza was such a treat!  After I’d devoured the cheesy, dougy pizza, I was still left with a cheese filled breadstick.  Yum.  What could be better than more cheese and bread after you’ve finished a piece of pizza?  Nothing, I tell ya.  Nothing. 

Stuffed Crust Pizza
(makes one personal pizza)

Ingredients:

  • Pizza dough
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup mozzerella cheese
  • pepperoni
  • 2 Tbsp parmesan cheese
  • 3 mozzerella sticks

Directions:

  1. Prepare pizza dough (allow up to two hours for rising time) or use previously prepared dough.  I used 1/4 of the pizza dough yield from this recipe.
  2. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  3. Roll your dough into a large circle.  Place dough onto a lightly oiled baking sheet.
  4. Cut mozzerella sticks in half lengthwise and down the middle.  You’ll end up with 12 rectangular pieces.
  5. Place mozzerella sticks around the edge of the dough.  Fold dough over the mozzerella and seal closed.
  6. Spread a thin layer of tomato sauce over the center of the dough.  Toss cheese and pepperoni on top.
  7. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes.  Allow to cool for about 5 minutes before cutting.

What foods make you think of your childhood?

There’s still time to enter my Chobani giveaway!

Leave a Reply

