Five Favorites Friday – 4/15/11

15 Apr

Last night I got together with my high school friend, Katharine.  We hadn’t seen each other in over five years.  It’s so hard to imagine that it had been that long but time really does fly.  We had a great time catching up, reminiscing over the past, and discussing all the things we’re up to these days. 

While we were chatting, she said something that really stuck with me.  Kath mentioned that she’s found a lot of the same girls she once partied with are now running half marathons, participating in triathalons, and generally speaking, living healthier lifestyles.  I couldn’t agree more.  As it is, Kath just completed her first half marathon (woo hoo!) and one of my college friends (Hi Tracy!) is training for a sprint triathlon.

This is a trend that I’d like to see more of.  Granted, endurance racing is not for everyone but I love the idea of committing to better health and striving to complete such admirable goals. 

When I crossed the finish line at the 2006 NYC marathon, I felt so accomplished and proud.  Even though my knees hurt and I was dog tired, I knew that the pain was temporary but the experience was forever. 

In my case it was a one time experience but I like to think that while training, I developed healthy habits that I still practice today.  One of those habits is incorporating whole grains into my daily diet.  During my running days, my grain of choice was whole wheat, typically in the form of bread or pasta.  But as my palate matures, I’ve come to appreciate other grains such as oats, brown rice, sprouted grains, and quinoa.

This week, in honor of whole grains, I’ve compiled a list of unique recipes that use some of my favorite grains.  Without further ado, here are my five favorites for Friday, April 15:

  1. Quinoa Bagels (from about.com)
    Although quinoa is technically from the grass family, it has many grain like qualities.  You can read more about it here.  One of my favorite things about quinoa is its high protein content.  In fact, it is a plant source of complete protein with a balanced set of amino acids.  I love the idea of making bagels from scratch with a higher protein content!
  2. Pumpkin Maple Quinoa Granola (from clean eating chelsey)
    I’m all about the granola lately, so this recipe sounds great.  I’ve never made granola with quinoa so it’s very intriguing.  Never mind that it has several fall flavors; there’s never a bad time for pumpkin!
  3. Whole wheat Oatmeal Carrot Chocolate Chip Cookies (from marcussamuelsson.com)
    Yum, these cookies involve two different types of grains, along with chocolate chips.  Sign me up!
  4. Vegan Overnight Quinoa Cereal (from Eating Birdfood)
    I love overnight oats for their texture and staying power.  It never occurred to me to use quinoa but I love the idea and plan to use it very soon 🙂
  5. Oatmeal Crackers (from 101 Cookbooks)
    If you’re looking for a collection of flavorful vegetarian meals, 101 Cookbooks is the place to go.  It is the first food blog I ever followed and I find myself returning constantly to salivate over all of Heidi’s wonderful food!  These crackers are no exception and they include one of my favorite grains, oatmeal.  And I love the little animal shapes she made.  So adorable!

On that note, have a wonderful weekend.  I’ll be sure to be checking in with some good eats or daily happenings.  We’ll see!

What’s your favorite whole grain?

3 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday – 4/15/11”

  1. Samm I Amm April 16, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    I like oats, but I definitely need to incorporate more whole grains into my diet!

  2. Recipe Chefs April 17, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

    • Michelle April 17, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

      Yep, I agree. Food can always be enjoyed even when not eating!

Leave a Reply

