Go Burger

17 Apr

What a gorgeous day!  After yesterday’s massive storm, we have been lucky enough to be graced with sunshine and 60 degrees.  I’ll take it!

After spending a lovely Palm Sunday service with Alex’s mom, we headed to Go Burger for some lunch.

This location just opened recently and I’ve been eager to check it out.  Well, okay, actually I’d totally forgotten about until we walked by.  But as soon as we did, Alex suggested we stop in for lunch and I happily agreed.

After perusing the menu, I decided to go with the Naked Veggie Falafel.  Naked?!  Yep, it’s served without a bun folks.  Nothing more exciting than that.  Alex went with the classic Angus beef burger with provolone and bacon.

Also on the menu was their UltiMELT; our burger topped with caramelized onions, bacon, and BLT sauce is sandwiched between two slender rye and Gruyère grilled cheese sandwiches.  Can you imagine?!  A burger served between two grilled cheese sandwiches?!  Sounds like three meals to me but we both agreed we want to see what it looks like someday.  Not on this visit though.

After a brief wait, our food arrived.  Here’s my veggie falafel sans bun.  I like that they offered the option to replace the bun with veggies and hummus.  I think they pulled the meal together.  The falafel patty would have been too dry on its own.

And here we have Alex’s burger with a side of fries to share.

Overall the food was just okay.  It wasn’t bad by any means but we both agreed we probably won’t go out of way to make another visit.  But if you happen to be on the upper east side in need of a quick bite in a fun location, Go Burger is a great option but there are definitely better burger joints in the city.

Do you like burgers?  Would you go without the bun if you had the choice?

4 Responses to “Go Burger”

  1. Hackskeptic April 17, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    I like a burger inside a pitta bread for a change, but you can’t beat the bun IMHO. But what do I know? We English can hardly call ourselves experts on meat patty combinations.

    • Michelle April 17, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      I’ve never tried a burger inside a pita before but it sounds good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Burgers & Sweet Potato Fries « A Voracious Appetite - April 19, 2011

    […] probably noticed by now that Alex and I really like burgers.  In fact, before I embarked upon my vegetarian years, bacon cheeseburgers were my favorite […]

  2. How to make Homemade Peanut Butter « A Voracious Appetite - May 2, 2011

    […] Alex and I ventured to Go Burger […]

Leave a Reply

