Taco Night!

18 Apr

As a kid, I remember always looking forward to taco night.  My mom would cook ground beef and season it with some packaged taco seasonings.

source

She served the meat with warm, crispy shells and a wide selection of toppings including cheddar cheese, sour cream, and tomatoes.  It was always messy and always so satisfying.

Now that I cook for myself, one thing hasn’t changed, I still love taco night.  However, I’m much more aware of what goes into my tacos.

For starters, I try not to use packaged taco seasonings as they tend to be high in sodium and contain some questionable ingredients.  What is “natural flavor” anyway?

I’ve also swapped hard shell tacos for soft shell; whole wheat for me and corn for Alex.  And, the final swap, is greek yogurt in place of sour cream.  It’s just so much better for you and there is hardly a taste difference.

Finally after many, many tries, I’ve found a recipe that makes flavorful tacos that aren’t too spicy.  You’ll notice that I reduced the amount of heat from the original recipe, so if you prefer spicy tacos, feel free to adapt it to your liking. 

Taco Seasonings
(adapted from allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • dash of red pepper flakes
Directions:
  1. Mix all spices. 
  2. Cook ground beef, over medium heat, until brown (about 8 to 10 minutes).
  3. Drain grease.
  4. Add 1/4 cup water and about 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of spice to 1 lb of ground beef for mild tacos.  If you’d like spicier tacos, you can increase it to 2 tablespoons per pound.
  5. Cook for another few minutes, until spices are absorbed by the meat and all the liquid is gone.
  6. Serve and enjoy!

Did you have taco night as a kid?  What’s your favorite taco topping?

3 Responses to “Taco Night!”

  1. Christina April 18, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Mmmm…I always love taco night!! These sound incredible! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Up and at ‘em « A Voracious Appetite - June 7, 2011

    […] Dinner was super quick since we were low on pretty much everything.  I made some ground beef tacos with homemade taco seasonings. […]

Leave a Reply

