Homemade Burgers & Sweet Potato Fries

19 Apr

You’ve probably noticed by now that Alex and I really like burgers.  In fact, before I embarked upon my vegetarian years, bacon cheeseburgers were my favorite food.  Ironic, no?

At any rate, vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike, can agree that burgers and fries are quintessential American food.  Whether it’s an all beef patty or a veggie burger, they’re speedy, tasty, and all-American.  These days I favor local, organic grass-fed beef because it’s better for me and for the environment.  It’s a win-win!

Last week, when discussing dinner, Alex requested that if I make burgers to not “over cook them”.  He had a valid point.  You see, I’m very nervous about serving undercooked meat so I tend to go to the other extreme resulting in dry, tasteless burgers.  So I accepted the challenge and rose to the occasion!

These burgers were fantastic!  The meat was moist, juicy, and flavorful.  To complete the meal, I buttered and toasted store-bought buns and prepared sweet potato fries.  All in all, it was a classic American meal with a healthy twist! 

Homemade Burgers
(makes four burgers)

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the grill to medium-high heat.
  2. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients.  Mix with your hands to evenly distribute the seasonings.  Get your hands a little dirty!
  3. Form four compact patties.
  4. Cook on grill until they reach desired level of doneness.  I cooked ours for about 4 minutes per side.

Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

  • 1 to 2 medium-sized sweet potatoes
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Wash the sweet potatoes, poke them with a fork, and microwave them for about 3 minutes.  This will make it easier to cut them.
  3. Once the sweet potatoes have cooled, cut them into long thin strips.
  4. Spread the sweet potatoes into a roasting pan and cover in olive oil.  Sprinkle seasonings over top.  Stir or shake the pan to evenly distribute the seasonings.
  5. Cook for 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.

What’s your favorite kind of burger?

7 Responses to “Homemade Burgers & Sweet Potato Fries”

  1. Lisa (I'm an Okie) April 19, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    that looks my THE perfect meal to me.

    I’ve been craving burgers left and right!

    • Michelle April 19, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one 🙂

  2. Christina April 19, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Yummy!!! I love sweet potato fries! I am so excited that the weather is warming up…getting ready for grilling season! 😉

    • Michelle April 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      Yes, grilling season is one of the best things about the summer!

  3. Samm I Amm April 20, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Yum, love a good burger! I always cook mine medium to medium rare though and very pink! Your sweet potato fries lookso good too!

    • Michelle April 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      Oh you like your burgers just like my fiance! I can never eat them that rare, haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to make Homemade Peanut Butter « A Voracious Appetite - May 2, 2011

    […] I made some great homemade burgers with sweet potato fries […]

Leave a Reply

