Peanuuuut, Peanut Butter…

20 Apr

…and Jelly!

Did you ever sing that song as a kid?  I remember singing it over and over again.  Namely because it’s catchy and secondly, because I love peanut butter!

Peanut butter might just be my favorite food.  I can eat it on pretty much anything but my favorites would have to be greek yogurt, banana bread, pretzels and a spoon.  That’s right, I like it straight up!

This past weekend I made my first attempt at making my own peanut butter using nothing but dry roasted unsalted peanuts.  I was hesitant at first but you butter believe it was a success (hahaha, sorry, I couldn’t help myself!).  Seriously though, it couldn’t have been easier.  I roasted three and a half cups of peanuts on a baking sheet at 375 for about 6 minutes.  I made sure to stir at least once, so they didn’t burn.  My kitchen smelled heavenly!

After letting the nuts cool for a few minutes, I pulverized them in my food processor.  It sounds so cruel but it really was a beautiful thing.  Within five short minutes, I had creamy, drippy, wonderful peanuuuut, peanut butter!  Then I decided to go a little nuts (hahaha sorry again!) and added a dash or two of salt.  Perfection!

I was so proud of myself that I ran out of the kitchen to tell Alex (who doesn’t even eat peanut butter; the horror).  Even he was somewhat impressed, but not enough to try it.  That’s okay, more for me!

So as the week went on, I continued to think of peanut butter.  That’s normal right?  Well, actually I don’t care if it is.  I’m content with my peanut buttery ways regardless 🙂  So I have spent an embarrassing amount of time trying to think of tasty ways to eat more of my latest culinary delight.  Peanut butter granola?  Peanut butter muffins?  Peanut butter slathered on Oreos?  (<– btw, best way to eat an Oreo.  Ever.)

That’s when it dawned on me.  I’ll make peanut butter cookies!  There has been a super basic flourless peanut butter cookie recipe floating around the blog world for a while now.  I’ve always meant to make them, but never have.  So here’s my chance!!  It’s okay if you jump for joy; I did.

Flourless Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies
(I followed the recipe from meals & moves)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup peanut butter (In case you didn’t gather from my ranting above or you skipped straight to the recipe, I used homemade peanut butter.  It’s delish.)
  • 1 cup pure cane sugar
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix your ingredients well.
  3. Make 1 teaspoon sized balls and line them up on a baking sheet.  Press them down in the middle with a fork.
  4. Bake for about 10 minutes.
  5. Allow them to cool before devouring.
Do you like peanut butter?  If so, what’s your favorite way to eat it?
7 Responses to “Peanuuuut, Peanut Butter…”

  1. Samantha @ Simply Samantha April 20, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Do you think the recipe would work with a different type of nut butter? I’m so allergic to peanuts I can’t even stay in a room with them, but those look so good!

    • Michelle April 20, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      So sorry to hear you’re allergic to peanut butter! I bet they would work just fine with another type of nut butter even though I’ve never tried it. If you do, let me know how they turn out!

  2. Christina April 20, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    How fun that you made your own peanut butter…we go through so much I think I need to give it a try! I bet these cookies are incredible! 🙂

    • Michelle April 21, 2011 at 11:06 am #

      It’s surprisingly easy to make your own. You should give it a try!

  3. janetha April 21, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    haha i ALWAYS have that song stuck in my head!!!!!!!!!!! peanuuuut peanut butttter AND JELLY!

    • Michelle April 21, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      Haha, yep! It’s so catchy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to make Homemade Peanut Butter « A Voracious Appetite - May 2, 2011

    […] Three ingredient peanut butter cookies! […]

Leave a Reply

