Ab-solutely!

1 May

Good morning!  How’s everyone doing today?  Have you had a nice weekend so far?  I sure have!  After last weekend’s crazy (but super fun) schedule, it’s been so nice to take it easy and relax.  We’ve also had some awesome weather!  It’s finally in the 60s, sunny, and NOT humid.  I love it!  I have to enjoy it while it lasts 🙂

Yesterday I did manage to get outside for a bit.  I walked over to the gym for a personal training session.

Earlier this week I mentioned that I joined a gym.  About a month ago, I was lucky enough to find a great deal on Living Social.  I bought a one month membership for 60% off!  When I saw that deal, I knew it was a sign that I need to get my butt into gear and amp up my workouts.  Before joining the gym, I’d been using the gym in my apartment building.  That gym has been great for basic cardio and weights but I’ve found it very hard to motivate myself to go often.  So, my plan is to take several classes at the new gym!  That should keep my motivation up and prevent me from slacking off.

At any rate, when I purchased the one month membership, I received a complementary personal training session!  The trainer I met with was very nice and reassured me that I can reach my goals with some hard work and determination.  After talking a bit more about what I want out of my membership, we got to work.

She totally killed my abs with the following moves:

First up, I did leg raises while holding a body bar.  She had me lay flat on my back and hold the bar above my chest.  Then, using my lower abs, I raised my straight legs up towards my left hand, lowered them (without touching the floor), and raised them again towards my right hand.  Repeat for a total of 12 times on each side.

Next up, I did 12 straight leg raises on the captain’s chair.

source

Then, she had me lay flat on a workout bench and hold on with my hands by my head.  I did 12 straight leg raises again.

In the same position on the workout bench, I did another 12 leg raises however this time, at the top of each raise, I tilted my pelvis up so that my butt was lifted off the bench.

Immediately following that set of 12 raises, I held my legs straight out and parallel to the ground.  In that position, I crossed my feet over one another for 12 times.  <– That was the toughest move of the whole workout!

For the last few exercises, I used a Bosu.

source

The trainer had me place my tailbone on the lower portion of the Bosu so that my upper back curved over the top and my feet were flat on the floor.  In this position I did 12 crunches.

Then I quickly flipped over for a one minute plank on the Bosu.

After that, I flipped back onto my back, into the original position to complete 12 crunches, then 12 pulses at the top, and finally 12 more crunches.

Once I’d completed the abs circuit, she had me do some mountain climbers, burpees, sprints, among others.  It was a tough workout and my abs are so sore this morning!  But I’m not complaining, it’s just what I want 🙂

Since this post is so wordy, I’ll save some of my weekend eats for another time.  Until then, enjoy the rest of your weekend!

When was the last time you had a great workout?  Tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

