Archive | 10:55 am

Pastrami Queen

4 May

Last night, Alex and I found ourselves further up on the Upper East Side than we’re used to. 

You know, it’s funny, I find the longer I live in New York, the more time I spend south of 72nd street.  When I first moved to the city in 2005, I lived way up on 92nd street.  It was a little two bedroom, in a walk up building, over a CVS, across from the gym and a five minute walk from the train.  The neighborhood was great and there was plenty to do but I found that I felt detached from some of the cooler places in Manhattan, namely downtown. 

Over the years, I moved a lot.  I lived in three different apartments in the 90s, two in the 70s, and now one cozy apartment in the 60s.  I enjoyed my tour of the Upper East Side but I think I’ve finally found a place I can call home 🙂

Anyway, that was a big digression from the topic at hand.  And that topic is the Pastrami Queen.  As the name indicates, the Pastrami Queen is a kosher deli that specializes in quality meats.  According to Zagat’s they even have the best pastrami in New York.  Alex and I decided to see for ourselves.

They’re menu is a tad overwhelming as there are so many items from which to choose!

In the end I decided to go with the overstuffed roast turkey sandwich.  Alex choose the famous pastrami on rye.

The sandwiches were huge!  But you better believe I finished mine.  It’d be a shame to let such fine meat go to waste.

We both liked the Pastrami Queen and will definitely go back again.  I’m pretty sure the pastrami wasn’t the best in the city and it’s no Katz Deli, but sometimes you just can’t make it downtown, in which case, Pastrami Queen is a great option.

Have you ever been to a genuine, NY kosher deli?  If so, what did you order?