Chocolate Chip Protein Muffins

22 May

Happy weekend all!  Have you been up to anything fun?  I haven’t been doing much besides getting things done around the apartment and baking.  Two of my favorite ways to spend the weekend!  Last night Alex and I watched the King’s Speech.  I thought it was well done but somewhat slow at parts.  I’m not quite sure what all the fuss was about.  Did you see it?  What’d you think?

In an effort, to incorporate more protein in my diet, I’ve been looking to some of my favorite bloggers for inspiration.  One recipe that I’ve had bookmarked for a long time is Janetha’s Lemon Yogurt Chiaseed Protein Muffins.  While I’m not a big fan of lemon-flavored baked goods, I do like the idea of increasing the protein content in them.  So I set out to create my own adaptation with one of my favorite elements, dark chocolate.

I used slightly different ingredients which resulted in a lower protein content, however, they still have great stats.  8 grams of protein in a soft, chocolatey muffin is hard to beat.

I was slightly hesitant baking with the Garden of Life Raw Protein powder for the first time but it worked wonderfully.  These muffins turned out every bit as rich and moist as their non-protein counterparts.  In fact, I have to say that I favor these because of how dense they are.  I plan to eat these as a protein-filled afternoon pick-me ups throughout the week.

Well, that is, if they last that long 🙂

Chocolate Chip Protein Muffins
(adapted from meals & moves

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup protein powder (Garden of Life Raw Protein)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 1/3 cup plain greek yogurt (I used Fage Total 0%.)
  • 1/3 cup pure cane sugar
  • 1/3 cup plus 1 Tbsp egg whites (equivalent to two large eggs)
  • 2 Tbsp applesauce
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp almond milk
  • 1/2 cup all natural dark chocolate chips (optional)
Directions:
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients, except chia seeds.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix all the wet ingredients except the milk.
  4. Add the dry to the wet and mix until combined.  Add milk if necessary to create a thick batter.  I used about 2 tablespoons.
  5. Fold in chia seeds and chocolate chips.  If chocolate chips aren’t your thing, then you can use any number of mix-ins.  Some great choices would be blueberries, strawberries, walnuts, carob chips, dried fruit, etc.  Be creative!
  6. Pour batter into a greased or lined muffin tin.
  7. Bake muffins for about 20 minutes, rotating pan halfway through.
How do you incorporate more protein into your diet?  Have you baked with protein powder before?
6 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Protein Muffins”

  1. Christina May 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Sounds delicious! I am always looking into way to add more protein into my diet without eating just tons of chicken. I have never tried baking with protein powder before, I think I need to give it a try! 😉

    • Michelle May 23, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Baking with protein powder is great. I’m happy to give you some recommendations if you’re interested.

  2. janetha @ meals & moves May 23, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    You know I love protein packed anything! I am sure those are SO tasty!!

    • Michelle May 23, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      They really are. Let me know if you give them a try!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Will you hold me accountable? « A Voracious Appetite - May 23, 2011

    […] snack was a treat!  I had a chocolate chip protein muffin.  It was just as scrumptious today as the day they were […]

  2. Five Favorites Friday – 6/3/11 « A Voracious Appetite - June 3, 2011

    […] Muffins (from meals & moves) This is another great one!  I used this recipe as the base for my Chocolate Chip Protein Muffins, which I just loved.  But sometimes you just can’t beat the […]

Leave a Reply

