On the Corner of Fourth & Trade

30 May

Phew, what a weekend!  I took a few days to unplug and spend time with family.  It was great!  I have a couple recaps planned so bear with me as I tell you all about our trip. 🙂

On our second day in Winston-Salem, Alex and I took a walk around the downtown area to get a feel for the city.

Winston-Salem is known as the City of the Arts as it has a prevalent, nationally known arts scene.

We passed some local art stores and took in the local flavor.

The city had a nice, casual feel to it.  It’s true what they say about the pace of life in the south; it’s much more relaxed.  This was a welcomed change from the fast pace of the New York.

Along Fourth Street there were several restaurants full of people dining al fresco.  Some places were new-to-us.

And some were more familiar.

We continued to walk around a bit more to take in the sights.

I snapped that last photo for my mom who is a huge chemistry nerd!  Hi Mom!

As our walk came to an end, we passed the new baseball field that was built a little over a year ago.

The stadium is home to the Winston-Salem Dash.  My aunt told us a funny story about the naming of the team.  Before the stadium was built, the city conducted a contest for naming the team.  They asked city residents to submit names for the team.  Well after much deliberation, the city decided to go with the Dash.  When I first heard this, I assumed that it was meant to mean that the team is fast, as in “they dash to the bases”.  Well that assumption is wrong.  The name was picked in order to signify the “dash” between Winston and Salem.  And what makes this all rather funny is that it’s actually a hyphen not a dash.  Pretty funny, right?

That’s about all I have to share about downtown Winston-Salem.  Alex and I had a great time exploring but I don’t think it was quite enough to sway us from New York.  We’re New Yorkers for life 😉

What did you do this memorial day?

Leave a Reply

