Five Favorites Friday – 6/3/11

3 Jun

Hello there!  Who’s ready for the weekend?  I know I am.  Even though this was a short week, it was still incredibly busy.  Alex and I had something to do every night this week and tonight I’m flying home to Buffalo.  My mom, sister, and I are going to do more wedding planning and shopping.  I’m so excited as I love all things wedding.  The goal this weekend is to find my sister a dress!

So, as I mentioned before, I’m trying to incorporate more protein into my diet.  At lunch and dinner, it has been easy as I can add cottage cheese to a salad or incorporate chicken into a dish, for example.  However, I tend to have a harder time finding high protein breakfasts and snacks.  This week I’ve compiled some of my favorite recipes as well as a couple I’d like to try.

My five favorites for Friday June 3, 2011 (btw, I must be in denial as I just typed May instead of June!):

  1. Whey Protein Cookies (from Fat Loss School)
    This is one of the recipes that I have yet to try but it sounds great!  Since protein powder is the main focus of this recipe, it’s important to find a powder that tastes good.  I’m still working on finding a powder I love but once I do, I plan to make a batch of these cookies!
  2. Protein Truffles (from Peas and Thank You)
    These vegan protein truffles sound like a great way to refuel after the gym or a nice way to curb hunger before dinner.  Either way, I can’t wait to give them a try!
  3. Microwave Protein Muffin (from Smoothie Girl Eats Too)
    I know I’ve mentioned this recipe before but it bears repeating because it’s that good!  You can follow Deb’s version exactly or adapt it to your liking.  It’s quick too, which helps on busy mornings or late night snacks!
  4. Lemon Yogurt Chia Seed Protein Muffins (from meals & moves)
    This is another great one!  I used this recipe as the base for my Chocolate Chip Protein Muffins, which I just loved.  But sometimes you just can’t beat the original 🙂
  5. Strawberry Banana Smoothie
    The last item on the list is something I’ve been having as dessert all week.  It’s incredibly easy and so tasty.  I wish I had tried it sooner!  I throw the following into a blender and blend away; 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup skim milk, 2-3 organic frozen strawberries, 1 small frozen banana, and 1/2 Tbsp strawberry fig jam.  This is so refreshing on a hot summer night.  I can foresee this becoming a summertime tradition.

What do you do to incorporate more protein into your diet?  Any favorite recipes?

6 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday – 6/3/11”

  1. Maris (In Good Taste) June 3, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    These are very helpful recipes. Have a great time in Buffalo!

    • Michelle June 3, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      Thanks, have a nice weekend!

  2. Ramsey Benson June 4, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Pepakoka
    My Ganny came to the United States from Sweden a the turn of the 19th century when she was 17. When I was a youngster, I used to watch her make these cookies every Christmas. They taste better after a few weeks of seasoning.
    A flat, browne, spicey delight
    A cookie that tastes just right
    Ingredients
    ½ cup brown sugar
    ½ cup white sugar
    ½ cup molasses
    1 cup butter or margarine (2 sticks)
    2 egg yolks
    4 ½ cups sifted flour
    ½ teaspoon of baking soda in water
    ½ teaspoon baking powder
    ½ teaspoon ground clove
    1 teaspoon ginger
    1 teaspoon cinnamon
    ¼ teaspoon allspice
    Directions
    1. Take 2 sticks of butter out of refrigerator and let soften or use microwave
    2. In a large bowl place soften butter and sugar. Cream them together.
    3. Add in ½ cup molasses
    4. Add two egg yolks and beat until smooth
    5. Add spices, baking powder, baking soda, molasses
    6. Sift and mix in flour 1 cup at a time.
    7. Wrap dough in wax paper and refrigerate overnight
    8. Cut dough it 6 pieces.
    9. Roll out each piece.
    10. Use metal cookie cutters to form shapes
    11. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes or until edges turn brown

  3. Ramsey Benson June 4, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Pumpkin Chiffon Pie
    My Aunt Olive discovered this recipe in a ladies magazine when I was a youngster. She served it at many wonderful Thanksgivings. The whole family fell in love with this light and tasty pie, so much that we insisted she bring a big pie when she visited at Christmas. She filled a large meringue shell, but now I use this recipe to fill two Keebler ready made crusts.
    Ingredients
    1/3 cup of cold water
    1½ packages gelatin Knox
    6 eggs
    ½ cup of sugar (twice)
    1 can (2 cups) of pumpkin (not pie filling)
    1 5 ounce can (2/3 cup) of Carnation evaporated milk
    ½ teaspoon nutmeg
    ½ teaspoon cinnamon
    1/4 teaspoon salt (twice)
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    ½ teaspoon almond extract
    1 package of Cool Whip
    Directions
    1. In a small bowl place 1/3 cup of cold water. Add gelatin and set aside.
    2. Separate 6 eggs into whites and yolks. Save whites for step 7.
    3. In top of double boiler add egg yolks, ½ cupsugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, ½ teaspoon cinnamon and ½ teaspoon nutmeg. Beat until blended.
    4. Add in evaporated milk and pumpkin.
    5. Cook over in double boiler 15 to 20 minutes until mixture thickness and pulls away from sides of pot.
    6. Remove from heat. In hot mixture, add gelatin, vanilla and almond extract. Stir until blended. Cool for 15 minutes.
    7. In a big, deep bowl, add 1/4 teaspoon salt to eggs white and beat egg white until white stand in stiff beats.
    8. Blend in 1/2 – 3/4 cup sugar into egg whites, depending on your sweet tooth.
    9. Gradually fold egg whites into cooled pumpkin mixture.
    10. Now you have enough filling for two Keebler ready made pie shells. Or make a large meringe shell, or a cookie crust or fill pudding dishes and serve as a mouse.
    11. Top with whip cream or Cool Whip and refrigerate

    • Michelle June 4, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

      Thanks so much for the recipes! I’ll let you know when I can get a chance to make both 🙂

  4. janetha @ meals & moves June 6, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    You are SO sweet~ thanks for including me! I wrote 2007 the other day.. um, I am in major denial.

Leave a Reply

