Five Favorites Friday – 3/4/11

4 Mar

This has been a busy week!  It seems ever since Alex and I got engaged we’ve been go, go, go and it’s not even because of wedding planning.  We haven’t started yet!  This coming weekend is action packed too.  My younger brother, Mike, will be running in a track meet here in the city, so my parents are coming to visit.  They’ll get to see Mike run and congratulate Alex and I on our engagement. 

Also, my parents and my future in-laws will be meeting for the first time!  I’m very excited for everyone to meet.  I’m glad Alex and I are able to introduce them now instead of right before the wedding, which could be stressful.  And this gives them time to get to know each other before the big day. 

Because of all this excitement in my everyday life, I haven’t had as much time in the kitchen.  But that doesn’t mean I haven’t had time to read about being in the kitchen, haha.  I still manage to read recipe after recipe all week.  Sometimes it’s just easier to read about all the things other people are cooking and baking instead of doing it yourself, ya know?  Nonetheless, once I have a chance to get back in the kitchen you can be guaranteed I’ll be making some of these recipes!

My five favorites for Friday, March 4th:

  1. Peanut Butter Chocolate Protein Cereal (from meals & moves)
    If you follow healthy living blogs, you’ve probably heard the buzz around this healthy cereal.  Ashley first posted a new cracker recipe using garbanzo bean flour, which Mama Pea later adapted into a healthy version of Cinnamon Toast Crunch.  Peanut Butter Chocolate Protein Cereal is Janetha’s take on the healthy cereal craze and I’m pretty excited to try it out.  I like that she added protein powder to the mix for extra staying power.  And I’m game for pretty much anything that involves both chocolate and peanut butter!
  2. Avocado Hummus (from Live, Laugh, Eat)
    Keeping with the garbanzo theme, the avocado hummus sounds awesome.  I just bought myself a new food processor so I can’t wait to break it in with this recipe!
  3. Super Easy DIY Pockets (from Chow Vegan)
    Janetha provide inspiration for this one as well!  During the week, she posted a healthy version of hotpockets.  I liked the idea a lot and it seemed easy enough, so I decided to add it to my list of “things to make”.  Then, as luck would have it, I came across these super easy DIY pockets.  I like the idea of making a quick dough from scratch and then stuffing it with my own mix of goodies.
  4. Coconut Dark Chocolate Banana Bread (from The Weather in Cascadia)
    For a while I was making banana bread once a week.  Lately I haven’t had the time, but next time I do, I’ll be sure to use this recipe.  It looks great!
  5. Mac Book Pro
    It’s about time I upgrade my computer!  If you have a Mac Book Pro, do you like it?  Do you have any recommendations for me?

What are you plans for the weekend?  Do share!

vitamins and supplements
Have a blog? Want to win a $100? Check out the Swanson Health Blog.

6 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday – 3/4/11”

  1. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) March 4, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Ooh what I would do for a new food processor!!!

    I use Macbook and sometimes (okay all the time) use my mom’s Macbook Pro. LOVE THEM BOTH!

    • Michelle March 4, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      It’s great to hear even more positive feedback about Macs. It seems like everyone who has one loves it.

  2. Christina March 4, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Good luck with your parents meeting…i remember that day too! I was so nervous. Haha! I have a mac book pro and I love it! There is no way I would ever go back, they are more expensive, but worth every penny! 🙂

  3. janetha March 6, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Thanks to you I have those vegan pockets on my “to make” list, too! I even got a handy calzone press for them. Thanks for the link and also for the shout out! xoxoxo

    • Michelle March 6, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      My pleasure 🙂 A calzone press? I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a thing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hottest of Pockets « A Voracious Appetite - March 8, 2011

    […] I mentioned on Friday, this past weekend was jam packed with family events.  We visited several restaurants for a few […]

Leave a comment