Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

17 Mar

Happy St. Patricks Day!

What have you done to celebrate?  The extent of my celebration includes these cookies (I’ll take any reason to bake!) and to wear green.    Have you ever heard of the tradition that you’re allowed to pinch someone who isn’t wearing green on St. Patty’s day?  I’d never heard this before I met Alex.  When he first told me, I thought he was using it as an excuse to flirt with me (which was totally okay by me :-)).  But then over the past few years, I started hearing it from other people.  It’s a strange tradition, no?  At any rate, since that year onward, I’ve made sure to wear green!

Now, let’s talk cookies.  These cookies are tasty and so festive!  I followed a chocolate chip recipe from Janetha (at meals & moves <– LOVE her site!).  She claims this is the best chocolate chip recipe ever and I’d have to agree.  These cookies always turn out soft and chewy in the center.  They seriously melt in your mouth!  I made a few changes and added some green food coloring to make them more festive 🙂

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1/4 cup and 2 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 to 3/4 tsp peppermint extract
  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 and 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 and 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 rounded tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp green food coloring (optional)
  • 1 cup mint chocolate chips (I used Andes mint baking chips)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together butter, sugars, egg, vanilla and peppermint extracts.
  3. In a separate bowl, measure flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Mix thoroughly.
  4. Slowly add your dry ingredients to the wet and mix until just combined.
  5. Mix in green food coloring, if using.
  6. Slowly fold in the mint chocolate chips.
  7. Using a tablespoon, roll dough into balls and place onto baking sheets.
  8. Bake for 10 minutes.
  9. Let them cool and enjoy!

Tell me one thing you like to do every St. Patrick’s Day!

8 Responses to “Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Christina March 17, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Oh yeah!!! I actually had this recipe bookmarked to make but I could not find andes mint chips ANYWHERE! I really need to get my hands on a bag…these look delicious! 🙂

    • Michelle March 17, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      It is so hard to find mint chocolate chips outside of the Christmas season! Luckily Amazon came through and at a good price too 🙂

  2. janetha March 17, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    I love that you made them green! Now I want cookies 🙂

    • Michelle March 17, 2011 at 11:57 am #

      If I could, I’d swap some green cookies for some green cheesecake, haha!

  3. Happy Mommy December 19, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

    My daughter and I made these for the school Christmas dinner. We entered the cookie contest with these and they won! Thank you for this recipe, she was so happy and proud.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grilled Sirloin Salad « A Voracious Appetite - March 20, 2011

    […] more cookies […]

  2. Blog Bake Sale: Page 2 - May 16, 2011

    […] Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

  3. CNC Bake Sale: Current Bids - May 16, 2011

    […] Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

Leave a comment