Five Favorites Friday – 5/20/11

20 May

Helloooooo Friday!  Am I happy to see you!  I know that earlier this week I mentioned that the week seems to be going very slowly.  Unfortunately, the whole week felt that way!  But we’ve made it to Friday, my favorite day of the week.  Even though Friday isn’t actually part of the weekend, it’s my favorite because there is so much anticipation.  When I leave work on Friday evenings I know I have two whole days off to enjoy.  What’s better than that?!  Nothing, I tell ya.

Today I want to talk about bread.  Yeast breads, specifically.  Every Friday, Susan at Wild Yeast posts what she calls YeastSpotting.  YeastSpotting is a weekly collection of yeast recipes that have been prepared and submitted by bloggers.  This week is my first week participating.  I submitted the Cheesy Pretzel Bites I made last weekend because, honestly, they’re too good not to share! 

This week I’ve compiled a list of yeast bread recipes that look fantastic!  I found most of them through YeastSpotting.  If you’re interested in baking with yeast, I highly recommend checking out Wild Yeast for yourself!

My five favorites for Friday May 20, 2011: 

  1. Sunny Cranberry Loaf (from Cookistry)
    This bread looks great mostly because of the addition of sweet, dried cranberries!  The title also makes me think of sunny, summer days which I’m really looking forward to.
  2. Garlic Rolls (from My Singapore Kitchen)
    Yum, I love garlic rolls.  They bring me back to my college days where a plain slice and garlic knots was a welcomed dinner!  I also love that there are step by step pictures included for those of us that like a little bit more direction. 🙂
  3. Double Hydration Focaccia (from Bewitching Kitchen)
    Focaccia bread is one of my favorites because it is so flavorful and fluffy.  I’ve never made my own though and this recipe looks like a great place to start! 
  4. Cinnamon Sugar Pull-Apart Bread (from Swapna’s Cuisine)
    Do I really need to explain why this one made the list?!  Cinnamon and sugar were made to be together!
  5. Cinnamon Vanilla Swirl Bread (from Bran Appetit)
    Can you tell that I really like cinnamon?  I especially love the cinnamon swirl in the center of the loaf.  Yum!

Have you ever baked with yeast?  What’s your favorite yeast bread?

4 Responses to “Five Favorites Friday – 5/20/11”

  1. sallybr May 21, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Thanks for the link to my blog!

    I hope you try the focaccia, it’s a great recipe and always works, plus you can add all sorts of toppings. Someone told me that sliced apples and cinnamon/sugar makes a fantastic brunch type concoction. Gotta try that… 😉

    • Michelle May 21, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      Yum, I love the idea of adding apples and cinnamon. I’ll let you know how it goes when I get a chance to make it 🙂

  2. brandi May 24, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    aw, thanks for the link! that bread was awesome 🙂

    • Michelle May 24, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      My pleasure! I can’t wait to make some!

Leave a comment